Can't access the site on 4g?

Discussion in 'Admin/Mod Help Forum' started by esmufc07, Sep 11, 2018.

  1. Sep 11, 2018
    #1

    esmufc07 Elvis has theft the building Scout

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    30,413
    For some reason I can no longer access the site on my phone when it's using 4g. Just loads up a white screen. Never had this issue before. I'm with EE if that helps.

    Any ideas?
  2. Sep 11, 2018
    #2

    Ian Reus Ended 14 years of Grand National sweepstakes

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    4,940
    Location:
    Belfast
    /thread
  3. Sep 11, 2018
    #3

    Varun Moderator Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    42,981
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Connection timed out error?
  4. Sep 11, 2018
    #4

    esmufc07 Elvis has theft the building Scout

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    30,413
    Don't even get that!
  5. Sep 11, 2018
    #5

    Varun Moderator Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    42,981
    Location:
    Mumbai
    No small text top left?
  6. Sep 11, 2018
    #6

    jojojo Moderator Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    27,608
    Location:
    Welcome to Manchester reception committee
  7. Sep 11, 2018
    #7

    Rado_N Yaaas Broncos!

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    89,703
    Location:
    Manchester
    Yep, although the site will now load for me but won't let me add quotes or submit posts, I have to be using the VPN to be able to do that.
  8. Sep 11, 2018
    #8

    Green_Red Full Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    6,185
    Reset your browser
  9. Sep 11, 2018
    #9

    Niall All Powerful Super Being Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 1999
    Messages:
    16,350
    Yeah try this @esmufc07. First try incognito / private browsing to check if the site loads in that. If so then it’s probably cookie related so delete the cookies for this site and log in fresh.

    If you have a second browser on your phone you could try that too and see if it makes a difference.
  10. Sep 11, 2018
    #10

    esmufc07 Elvis has theft the building Scout

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    30,413
    Tried both those suggestions and neither work. Is it likely to be a site issue or an EE issue?
  11. Sep 11, 2018
    #11

    CassiusClaymore Is it Gaizka Mendieta? Scout

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    25,110
    Location:
    None of your business mate
    Yeah same issue for me. Also on EE. Turds.
  12. Sep 11, 2018
    #12

    Niall All Powerful Super Being Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 1999
    Messages:
    16,350
    Most likely EE, no network issues that I know of that would cause what you describe. Maybe EE is run by scousers.
  13. Sep 11, 2018
    #13

    The Don Metrosexual Candy Shagger

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    12,175
    Location:
    Dayman, ahhhahhhahh, fighter of the nightman
    I'm also on EE and just got the 'took too long to respond' message. HTTP ERROR 504.
  14. Sep 11, 2018
    #14

    esmufc07 Elvis has theft the building Scout

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    30,413
    Pretty sure this means @Niall owes us money.
  15. Sep 11, 2018
    #15

    Irrational. Full Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    19,927
    Location:
    LVG's notebook
    I have the same issue as well. No problems on WiFi.
  16. Sep 11, 2018
    #16

    Ian Reus Ended 14 years of Grand National sweepstakes

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    4,940
    Location:
    Belfast
    This could be a good chance to thin the herd out a bit. :rolleyes:
  17. Sep 11, 2018
    #17

    The Don Metrosexual Candy Shagger

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    12,175
    Location:
    Dayman, ahhhahhhahh, fighter of the nightman
    :lol:
  18. Sep 11, 2018
    #18

    Ivor Ballokov Full Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,756
    Location:
    @arrowsleeper
    I think they run the AA too.
  19. Sep 11, 2018
    #19

    The Don Metrosexual Candy Shagger

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    12,175
    Location:
    Dayman, ahhhahhhahh, fighter of the nightman
    :lol: Eh, Eh.
  20. Sep 11, 2018
    #20

    RedTiger Full Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    11,731
    Location:
    Beside the sea-side, Beside the sea.
    EE, same issue for me.

    How do I delete the cookies from my phone? Android
  21. Sep 11, 2018
    #21

    Rado_N Yaaas Broncos!

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    89,703
    Location:
    Manchester
    It doesn't help so don't bother.

    For the time being I've been using Orbot VPN to access the site and it works fine.
  22. Sep 11, 2018
    #22

    The Don Metrosexual Candy Shagger

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    12,175
    Location:
    Dayman, ahhhahhhahh, fighter of the nightman
    I wonder has EE mistakenly flagged this site as inappropiate or something? All other sites are working fine for me on 4g.
  23. Sep 11, 2018
    #23

    esmufc07 Elvis has theft the building Scout

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    30,413
    Possibly. It does flag as not secure on chrome so perhaps when Niall has updated whatever he needs to update it will fix the issue
  24. Sep 11, 2018
    #24

    Niall All Powerful Super Being Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 1999
    Messages:
    16,350
    HTTPS is still a few months away. It does sound like EE are doing something or have messed something up on their side. I’d suggest calling them and telling them the site isn’t working on their network. It works everywhere else so the problem is with them.
  25. Sep 11, 2018
    #25

    mav_9me Full Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,746
    I am in USA, cannot access the site on my mobile phone on ATT 4G in regular chrome or incognito chrome or in opera.
  26. Sep 12, 2018
    #26

    Niall All Powerful Super Being Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 1999
    Messages:
    16,350
    I found this in a Google search where somebody had trouble accessing a specific site when using EE’s 4g:

    https://community.ee.co.uk/t5/4G-and-mobile-data/Access-to-PubMed-seems-to-be-blocked/td-p/684740

    That suggests it is a DNS issue on EE’s end which perhaps explains why it works ok via a VPN. iPhones don’t allow changing the DNS servers being used by a mobile connection but perhaps Android phones will?

    I’m not aware of any DNS changes on the site’s side that might cause this. Strange.
  27. Sep 12, 2018
    #27

    Niall All Powerful Super Being Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 1999
    Messages:
    16,350
    Further DNS checks look ok so it’s looking likely that it’s an issue on the mobile provider side. Hopefully it will resolve itself in a few days but if not please let me know.

    Sorry, not much I can do about this.
  28. Sep 12, 2018
    #28

    KM I’m afraid I just blue myself Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    44,494
    Users in India using the network Reliance Jio are also facing same problems.
  29. Sep 12, 2018
    #29

    harshad Play the odds, not the man - Poor man's Harvey Scout

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    8,972
    Location:
    On a long road that returns to Old Trafford!!!
    Yup getting 'Connection Timed Out'.
  30. Sep 12, 2018
    #30

    Redlambs Creator of the Caftards comics

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    32,968
    Location:
    Officially the best poker player on RAWK. Your cas
    Yeah I'm getting it on EE.

    I wish I'd never gone with them, they are shite for coverage and their mobile speeds are no faster than O2, they are such a sham.
  31. Sep 12, 2018
    #31

    esmufc07 Elvis has theft the building Scout

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    30,413
    Same! But then I hear the same about all the other networks :(
  32. Sep 12, 2018
    #32

    Redlambs Creator of the Caftards comics

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    32,968
    Location:
    Officially the best poker player on RAWK. Your cas
    Nah, both Vodafone and especially O2 are far better. I travel around a lot of the country and I can tell you for a fact, EE is trash for both coverage and speed.
  33. Sep 12, 2018
    #33

    Rado_N Yaaas Broncos!

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    89,703
    Location:
    Manchester
    Couldn't disagree with that more, I switched from O2 to EE in March and EE is infinitely better (this current DNS issue aside, assuming it is them).

    I used to suffer from data blackouts on O2 all the time, and even in full signal I'd get average download speeds, whereas I've not had any issues with losing signal since changing and my download speeds are insane.
  34. Sep 12, 2018
    #34

    Green_Red Full Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    6,185
    Have you not taken a look at letsencrypt.org yet? It couldnt be easier and completely free mate.
  35. Sep 12, 2018
    #35

    esmufc07 Elvis has theft the building Scout

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    30,413
    I switched from Vodafone because they were dreadful. Mind you, they seem to be doing a lot of improvements at the moment. Their customer services department are a joke though.
  36. Sep 12, 2018
    #36

    Redlambs Creator of the Caftards comics

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    32,968
    Location:
    Officially the best poker player on RAWK. Your cas
    Depends where you are I guess. But for around London, and the south of England, EE have been nothing but a let down. Plus it sucks in buildings too.

    I travel around every day and the amount of times I struggle for signal with them is a disgrace.
  37. Sep 12, 2018
    #37

    Vidic_In_Moscow Full Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15,397
    Location:
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Supports:
    i stink
    Me too. I'm also with EE on 4G. Been happening for a couple of days. I assumed @Damien had used that discouraging feature on me
  38. Sep 12, 2018
    #38

    Damien Self-Aware RedCafe Database (and Admin) Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    79,243
    You assumed wrong.
  39. Sep 12, 2018
    #39

    Niall All Powerful Super Being Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 1999
    Messages:
    16,350
    I’ve posted a homepage poll to see how many people are having this issue.
  40. Sep 12, 2018
    #40

    Vidic_In_Moscow Full Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15,397
    Location:
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Supports:
    i stink
    Thank you Captain Obvious