The Irish Border

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by Adebesi, Nov 10, 2017.

1. Nov 10, 2017

Adebesi Full Member

Does anyone have even the faintest idea how this problem can possibly be resolved?

I mean, setting aside the politics of it, working on the assumption that both sides actually want to solve the issue and are willing to make sensible compromises. Has anyone actually seen any proposals that have even a kernel of something workable at the heart of them? Have any of the more thoughtful Brexiters put forward anything more substantive than "we should use clever technological solutions"?

Because I assume someone must have. But I havent seen it if they have. And it seems to me what Barnier says is right, that it might be that the only way of doing it is to have Northern Ireland remain inside the customs union, and have a border between Northern Ireland and Britain.

But Im no expert in this area, I just find it really interesting and very worrying. If anyone has any bright ideas on this, or has heard any, I would love to hear them.
  2. Nov 10, 2017

Pogue Mahone Poster of the year 2008

"like a man in silk pyjamas shooting pigeons
    Good idea for a thread. The Tory government’s steadfast refusal to even attempt to come up with a solution for the problem they have created for their own citizens (the majority of whom voted Remain) nearly a year and a half after the referendum is an absolute disgrace.

I guess they're just lucky they've turned out to be such useless cnuts in every other aspect of managing this transition that this has ended up buried in the general "They Don't Know What They're Doing!" background noise.
  3. Nov 10, 2017

cyberman Full Member

The idea seems to be customs at ports etc that regulates what comes and goes rather than a hard border. Even then the Unionists will fight against that.