Gaming Building a gaming PC

mazhar13

Kermit Inc. 2022
Scout
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
26,602
Location
Toronto, Canada
Have you checked all related software like drivers and stuff? I had an issue where my screen would flicker at times, turned out it was some automatic performance enhancement software that came with my Asus RoG motherboard. Turned that off, all was well.
I tried that, too, and nothing changed. I even updated my drivers and OS on 4 separate occasions, and still, no change. For the past few weeks, I've been running both my CPU and GPU on the stock settings (no OC, no tuning, etc.), and I still faced the same old problems.

At the moment, my computer's running just fine with multiple streams up, but at the start of the day, my display was cutting off frequently even when the computer was close to idle. I had to discharge the motherboard and switch off the PSU for an extended amount of time to get things back to some sort of normalcy today.
 

ArjenIsM3

Full Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Messages
4,803
Location
Netherlands
I tried that, too, and nothing changed. I even updated my drivers and OS on 4 separate occasions, and still, no change. For the past few weeks, I've been running both my CPU and GPU on the stock settings (no OC, no tuning, etc.), and I still faced the same old problems.

At the moment, my computer's running just fine with multiple streams up, but at the start of the day, my display was cutting off frequently even when the computer was close to idle. I had to discharge the motherboard and switch off the PSU for an extended amount of time to get things back to some sort of normalcy today.
Weird one that. Do you have the option to try another GPU? Borrow one from a friend maybe? Because it sounds like it could be something like that too, maybe even your motherboard. If it cuts off close to idle it's not using much power so wouldn't expect it to be the PSU but then if that's near the end and not supplying steady power then it could cause some weird stuff.
 

mazhar13

Kermit Inc. 2022
Scout
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
26,602
Location
Toronto, Canada
Weird one that. Do you have the option to try another GPU? Borrow one from a friend maybe? Because it sounds like it could be something like that too, maybe even your motherboard. If it cuts off close to idle it's not using much power so wouldn't expect it to be the PSU but then if that's near the end and not supplying steady power then it could cause some weird stuff.
I have my previous GPU with me, so I'll switch to that if I get back into that situation again.
 

Vidic_In_Moscow

rectum-faced pygmy
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
19,298
Location
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Supports
i stink
Ah, excellent. I've just plugged one in and it works, or at least, is working. Making the laptop an eyesore, but at least I've migrated a decent amount of kit from the PC.

Cheers.
Did you fix it yet mate? I took my PC apart literally this week and had the exact same problem. I had removed the CPU cooler/fan to clean it and a bunch of other stuff. Upon resetting I had the infinite rebooting as you say, fault finding ruled out everything else. When I took the cpu cooler off the fault remained and I noticed there was a spec of thermal paste that had bridged from the CPU onto the mobo, I imagine creating a short. I wiped it off and the PC started up without issue and I kept testing it after adding every component again. I’m fairly confident this was the cause for me, sounds like it could be for you as well.
 

Fortitude

TV/Monitor Expert
Scout
Joined
Jul 10, 2004
Messages
17,340
Location
Inside right
Did you fix it yet mate? I took my PC apart literally this week and had the exact same problem. I had removed the CPU cooler/fan to clean it and a bunch of other stuff. Upon resetting I had the infinite rebooting as you say, fault finding ruled out everything else. When I took the cpu cooler off the fault remained and I noticed there was a spec of thermal paste that had bridged from the CPU onto the mobo, I imagine creating a short. I wiped it off and the PC started up without issue and I kept testing it after adding every component again. I’m fairly confident this was the cause for me, sounds like it could be for you as well.
Hey,

No I haven't touched it since deducing it's the motherboard, but I will inspect it for anything that might be creating a short. Did you apply new paste lately and some of it landed on the mobo, or has that fault popped up after a period of stability?
 

Vidic_In_Moscow

rectum-faced pygmy
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
19,298
Location
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Supports
i stink
Hey,

No I haven't touched it since deducing it's the motherboard, but I will inspect it for anything that might be creating a short. Did you apply new paste lately and some of it landed on the mobo, or has that fault popped up after a period of stability?
It was a fault of my own making. I sprayed compressed air into everything and I think a mixture of dust and dried thermal paste were sufficiently dislodged/relocated for it to happen. It was a small blob of paste that was half on the edge of the CPU and half resting against the mobo. I would check all the areas around the perimeter of the CPU and make sure there is no excess paste or anything.
 

Vidic_In_Moscow

rectum-faced pygmy
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
19,298
Location
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Supports
i stink
@Fortitude oh the other thing that it could have been was the backing plate of the CPU cooler. I think that was the only other variable I changed at the same time I removed the excess paste. I can’t remember for sure now but I may have changed the orientation of it when I re-installed it for the 2nd time (I referred to a YouTube video to make sure it was correct). Remove it completely and also check for excess dust/paste and see if it turns on before putting the plate back on.

Just for clarity sake, I mean just rotating it 90 degrees.On my one at least it can be physically fitted in any orientation but in each A & B position the prongs sticking out of the backside can end up touching different parts of the back of the motherboard which I feel may also have cause the shorting issue.

This and the paste thing were the only things I changed when I got it to work (I just can’t 100% remember if I did change the orientation or not)
 

Fortitude

TV/Monitor Expert
Scout
Joined
Jul 10, 2004
Messages
17,340
Location
Inside right
It was a fault of my own making. I sprayed compressed air into everything and I think a mixture of dust and dried thermal paste were sufficiently dislodged/relocated for it to happen. It was a small blob of paste that was half on the edge of the CPU and half resting against the mobo. I would check all the areas around the perimeter of the CPU and make sure there is no excess paste or anything.
@Fortitude oh the other thing that it could have been was the backing plate of the CPU cooler. I think that was the only other variable I changed at the same time I removed the excess paste. I can’t remember for sure now but I may have changed the orientation of it when I re-installed it for the 2nd time (I referred to a YouTube video to make sure it was correct). Remove it completely and also check for excess dust/paste and see if it turns on before putting the plate back on.

Just for clarity sake, I mean just rotating it 90 degrees.On my one at least it can be physically fitted in any orientation but in each A & B position the prongs sticking out of the backside can end up touching different parts of the back of the motherboard which I feel may also have cause the shorting issue.

This and the paste thing were the only things I changed when I got it to work (I just can’t 100% remember if I did change the orientation or not)
Food for thought. Fingers crossed something like that is my ailment; would save me a lot of bother!

Cheers.
 

Vidic_In_Moscow

rectum-faced pygmy
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
19,298
Location
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Supports
i stink
Recently got hold of a 3080ti. I was going to keep it for a new build but couldn’t resist shoehorning it into my current PC. Works well and a welcome upgrade from the 1080 but is definitely being limited a touch by the rest of the system. Currently weighing up whether to go for 11th or 12th gen intel CPU for a new build, can’t wait to build it! Might have to go 11th gen on impatience alone.
 

mazhar13

Kermit Inc. 2022
Scout
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
26,602
Location
Toronto, Canada
@mazhar13 how's it running now?
I just put in my brand new PSU, and everything's looking good so far. With my old PSU, I'd hear a coil whine at the start, but with this one, I hear none of it. Unfortunately, as part of replacing the PSU, one of the onboard-audio capacitors broke off. With that said, the computer's still working fine even when I have two streams up at the same time as well as being on a Discord call.

I'm planning to play some games and see how it operates under a heavy load in a bit. For now, I want to take it easy and see how it goes.
 

Vidic_In_Moscow

rectum-faced pygmy
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
19,298
Location
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Supports
i stink
Does anybody here understand how to work out which ports to use for your GPU & M.2 SSD's so they don't interfere with/compromise each other? (If that's even possible - it's making my head spin). I'm reading about PCIe lanes and that's as much as I can understand!
 

Turnip

likes to be spanked with games consoles
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
2,271
Location
the bush outside Bruno's house
Does anybody here understand how to work out which ports to use for your GPU & M.2 SSD's so they don't interfere with/compromise each other? (If that's even possible - it's making my head spin). I'm reading about PCIe lanes and that's as much as I can understand!
Shouldn't your motherboard's manual tell you which to use? Also some board types have different numbers of lanes available without interfering with others.
 

VidaRed

Full Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
28,968
I have to put together a new pc tomorrow. And im still clueless on how to do a clean install of windows 11 without installing windows 10 first and upgrading. Where can one buy windows 11 product key ? I want to install 11 directly without going through the upgrade route.
 

George Owen

LEAVE THE SFW THREAD ALONE!!1!
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
14,190
Location
Gold Coast, Australia
I have to put together a new pc tomorrow. And im still clueless on how to do a clean install of windows 11 without installing windows 10 first and upgrading. Where can one buy windows 11 product key ? I want to install 11 directly without going through the upgrade route.
just buy any windows 10 product key on eBay.
 

VidaRed

Full Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
28,968
I get a very faint static/buzzing noise from the pc whenever i mouse my mouse. It can't be the speakers because i haven't got any and whenever i use the headphones i cant hear it (probably because its faint but others nearby can hear it).


What could the problem here ? I've tried plugging the mouse usb to other ports and its still there.
 

Rake

Full Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
3,987
Location
Moon's Spawn
I get a very faint static/buzzing noise from the pc whenever i mouse my mouse. It can't be the speakers because i haven't got any and whenever i use the headphones i cant hear it (probably because its faint but others nearby can hear it).


What could the problem here ? I've tried plugging the mouse usb to other ports and its still there.
Are you 100% certain it is the mouse itself? Do you have another one to test? Sound like a coil whine from one of the parts (psu/gpu)
 

Red the Bear

Something less generic
Joined
Aug 26, 2021
Messages
5,000
Guys, does this sound like a 2kGBP computer? Would you consider this high-end/future proof?


ProcessorCore i9
Processor no.11900K
Graphic cardGeForce RTX 3080
Internal memory32 GB ((2 x 16GB))
Primary storage1 TB (AORUS M.2 Gen4 PCIe SSD)
Op. systemWindows 10 Home (Free uppgr. to Windows 11 Home)
Is the ram gddr5?
 

Dante

Average bang
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
25,280
Location
My wit's end
I get a very faint static/buzzing noise from the pc whenever i mouse my mouse. It can't be the speakers because i haven't got any and whenever i use the headphones i cant hear it (probably because its faint but others nearby can hear it).


What could the problem here ? I've tried plugging the mouse usb to other ports and its still there.
Turn off the monitor and hear what happens when you move the mouse.
 

Jacob

Full Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
24,964
Is the ram gddr5?
Sorry about the Swedish but I'm sure you'll understand;

Processor
Tillverkare: Intel
Processortyp: Core i9
Processornummer: 11900K
Processorkylare: Luft
Antal kärnor: 8 st
Antal trådar: 16 st
Hastighet: 3.7 GHz, 5.2 GHz Med turbo
Grafikkort
Tillverkare: Nvidia
Grafikkort: GeForce RTX 3080
Minne: 10 GB, (GDDR6X)
Minne
Internminne: 32 GB, ((2 x 16GB))
Minnestyp: DDR4 UDIMM, (XMP 4000 MHz)
Maximal minnesstorlek: 32 GB, (Inga lediga platser)
Lagring
Primär lagringsenhet: 1 TB, (AORUS M.2 Gen4 PCIe SSD)
Sekundär lagringsenhet: 2 TB, (GIGABYTE M.2 Gen3 PCIe SSD)
 

Dante

Average bang
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
25,280
Location
My wit's end
Guys, does this sound like a 2kGBP computer? Would you consider this high-end/future proof?


ProcessorCore i9
Processor no.11900K
Graphic cardGeForce RTX 3080
Internal memory32 GB ((2 x 16GB))
Primary storage1 TB (AORUS M.2 Gen4 PCIe SSD)
Op. systemWindows 10 Home (Free uppgr. to Windows 11 Home)

https://cdon.se/hemelektronik/aorus-model-s-i9-32gb-3tb-rtx-3080-p87271328?utm_source=prisjakt&utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=Aorus+Model+S+-+i9+|+32GB+|+3TB+|+RTX+3080&utm_content=87271328&utm_campaign=prisjakt_se_hemelektronik+>+datorer+>+kringutrustning+>+stationära+datorer&tduid=aa41e492c8270096babcf4557d0ef38b&affId=2097224
That's a mental price, imo. I personally wouldn't pay it. GPU prices will hopefully come down as we head into summer. So if you can wait, I would.

But if you're asking about the current market, that's not a terrible deal. An RTX3080 alone will set you back £1200 right now, so getting the rest for only £800 is actually decent.

Yes, for at least a couple of years playing new games at high settings. Maybe 4 or 5 years playing games at medium settings.

DDR5 isn't worth considering right now, and probably won't be for a couple more years.
 

Bosws87

Full Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
3,046
All depends on what resolution you intend to play your games at.

if its 1440p or below be fine for years running that at 60fps+ (High settings) with the advancements of DLSS maybe even longer.
 

GazTheLegend

Full Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2014
Messages
2,757
That's a mental price, imo. I personally wouldn't pay it. GPU prices will hopefully come down as we head into summer. So if you can wait, I would.
Is there any evidence that this is actually going to happen though? Unless bitcoin completely dies overnight I just don't see the price of GPU's falling again, maybe -ever-. As much as I'd like for that to be the case.
 

simonhch

Horrible boss
Joined
Aug 17, 2010
Messages
12,926
Location
Yankee Doodle land
Supports
Urban Combat Preparedness
Just completing a new build:

Processor: i9-12900kf (16 cores)
Motherboard: Asus Maximus Z690 Extreme
GPU: Nvidia GeForce RTX 3090 FE
Ram: 64Gb Corsair Dominator DDR5
Cooling: ASUS Ryujin II 360 AIO (liquid)
Storage: (x3), Samsung 980 2Tb SSD Nvme, Samsung 970 1Tb SSD Nvme, Samsung 870 4Tb SSD
Power: Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro II Titanium 1500W
Case: Cooler Master Cosmos c700m full tower

Suffice to say it is an absolute beast of a build. Will post some benchmarks when complete.
 

George Owen

LEAVE THE SFW THREAD ALONE!!1!
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
14,190
Location
Gold Coast, Australia
Just completing a new build:

Processor: i9-12900kf (16 cores)
Motherboard: Asus Maximus Z690 Extreme
GPU: Nvidia GeForce RTX 3090 FE
Ram: 64Gb Corsair Dominator DDR5
Cooling: ASUS Ryujin II 360 AIO (liquid)
Storage: (x3), Samsung 980 2Tb SSD Nvme, Samsung 970 1Tb SSD Nvme, Samsung 870 4Tb SSD
Power: Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro II Titanium 1500W
Case: Cooler Master Cosmos c700m full tower

Suffice to say it is an absolute beast of a build. Will post some benchmarks when complete.
Dayumm

What monitor? 4k?
 

Zarlak

my face causes global warming
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
45,191
Location
Truth like rain don't give a feck who it falls on.
Just completing a new build:

Processor: i9-12900kf (16 cores)
Motherboard: Asus Maximus Z690 Extreme
GPU: Nvidia GeForce RTX 3090 FE
Ram: 64Gb Corsair Dominator DDR5
Cooling: ASUS Ryujin II 360 AIO (liquid)
Storage: (x3), Samsung 980 2Tb SSD Nvme, Samsung 970 1Tb SSD Nvme, Samsung 870 4Tb SSD
Power: Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro II Titanium 1500W
Case: Cooler Master Cosmos c700m full tower

Suffice to say it is an absolute beast of a build. Will post some benchmarks when complete.
Christ, and I thought my 32GB RAM was completely overkill.
 

Donut

Full Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Messages
4,447
I want to buy a new PC but I'm not in a hurry. I'm not following the market so I don't know the current market, all I've heard is that due to the shortage of semiconductors the prices are extremely high now. So should I wait until the end of the year?
 

Bosws87

Full Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
3,046
I want to buy a new PC but I'm not in a hurry. I'm not following the market so I don't know the current market, all I've heard is that due to the shortage of semiconductors the prices are extremely high now. So should I wait until the end of the year?
I've got a feeling this is the new normal prices and they won't drop considerably for a while if they can sell them at this price why lower.
 

Rake

Full Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
3,987
Location
Moon's Spawn
Just completing a new build:

Processor: i9-12900kf (16 cores)
Motherboard: Asus Maximus Z690 Extreme
GPU: Nvidia GeForce RTX 3090 FE
Ram: 64Gb Corsair Dominator DDR5
Cooling: ASUS Ryujin II 360 AIO (liquid)
Storage: (x3), Samsung 980 2Tb SSD Nvme, Samsung 970 1Tb SSD Nvme, Samsung 870 4Tb SSD
Power: Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro II Titanium 1500W
Case: Cooler Master Cosmos c700m full tower

Suffice to say it is an absolute beast of a build. Will post some benchmarks when complete.
Gratz! Are you going to use it for productivity? It is an absolute overkill for gaming (still glad you can afford it).


That's simply not how supply and demand works at all.
Well, people are still purchasing at the current prices and stock is scarce. There has been an insignificant price drop in the past 1-2 months. A 2060 i still 650 euro... All parties involved are milking this as much as possible.