Contracts

kundalini

Full Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2004
Messages
5,071
Updated

Summer 2021:

Kirsty Smith https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/fran-bentley-and-kirsty-smith-sign-new-man-utd-contracts

Summer 2021 but club have + 1 year option:

Martha Harris https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/martha-harris-signs-new-contract-with-man-utd-women

Summer 2022:

Lucy Staniforth (no mention of option in the article) https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/manchester-united-women-sign-midfielder-lucy-staniforth

Summer 2022 + 1 year option:

Ella Toone https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/ella-toone-signs-new-contract-with-man-utd-women
Ona Batlle https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/manchester-united-women-sign-defender-ona-batlle
Millie Turner https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/millie-turner-signs-new-contract-with-man-utd-women
Alessia Russo https://www.manutd.com/en/news/deta...igning-of-england-international-alessia-russo
Ivana Fuso https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/ivana-fuso-signs-for-manchester-united-women

Summer 2023:

Aoife Mannion https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/man-utd-women-announce-signing-of-aoife-mannion
Emily Ramsey https://www.manutd.com/en/news/deta...n-utd-women-and-joins-birmingham-city-on-loan

Summer 2023 + 1 year option:

Maria Thorisdottir https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/man-utd-women-complete-the-signing-of-maria-thorisdottir
Hayley Ladd https://www.manutd.com/en/news/deta...der-hayley-ladd-signs-new-contract-until-2023
Mary Earps https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/mary-earps-signs-new-man-utd-women-contract
Vilde Bøe Risa https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/united-women-sign-vilde-boe-risa-july-2021
Hannah Blundell https://www.manutd.com/en/news/deta...ounce-signing-of-hannah-blundell-from-chelsea
Sophie Baggaley https://www.manutd.com/en/news/deta...nnounce-signing-of-goalkeeper-sophie-baggaley
Martha Thomas https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/man-utd-women-announce-signing-of-martha-thomas
Fran Bentley https://www.manutd.com/en/news/deta...-man-utd-women-and-joins-bristol-city-on-loan

Summer 2024 + 1 year option:

Kirsty Hanson https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/kirsty-hanson-signs-contract-extension-with-man-utd-women
Leah Galton https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/leah-galton-signs-new-contract-with-man-utd-women

(not been able to find info on several players)
 
Last edited:

jojojo

JoJoJoJoJoJo
Staff
Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Messages
34,009
Location
Welcome to Manchester reception committee
It's good to see us typing up long contracts with players like Leah Galton. A three year contract is a long one in terms of women's football.

Casey did a great job with that year 1 recruitment. A lot of the players she recruited then are now key to the side. Including people like Leah who'd been out of the game for a while. It's great to see them renewing now.

I must admit this tough covid year does leave me wondering about how our foreign players in particular have been coping. Christen and Tobin have only actually seen a Manchester that's shut and played in front of empty stadiums. Ona, Jackie and Ivana must be missing family and friends. I hope they're enjoying the football and their teammates enough to stay happy here. So far it seems like the only players who want to leave are those who aren't playing regularly. Let's hope we can keep that up.

I am a bit concerned about Jackie Groenen. I know that in November (interview when she was away with Dutch team I think) she dodged a question about whether she'd like to play in the Dutch League by saying that she had a long time left on her contract. The fact that the contract dates were never made public, I guess means that there are options clauses - maybe in both directions, rather than just at United's discretion.
 

Andersons Dietician

Full Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2016
Messages
11,678
I’m pretty sure we tied down James to a long term contract recently just after she signed for Jay-Z’s agency.

Wow so after a quick search the only thing I see is she signed in December 2019. Pay her whatever.
 
Last edited:

jojojo

JoJoJoJoJoJo
Staff
Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Messages
34,009
Location
Welcome to Manchester reception committee
I’m pretty sure we tied down James to a long term contract recently just after she signed for Jay-Z’s agency.

Wow so after a quick search the only thing I see is she signed in December 2019. Pay her whatever.
She signed her first Pro contact with us in December 2019. According to a couple of newspaper reports that was a 3 year contract. I'm guessing that actually means she's signed until the end of season 21/22. I don't remember seeing that timeline confirmed by United/Lauren though.
 

Andersons Dietician

Full Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2016
Messages
11,678
She signed her first Pro contact with us in December 2019. According to a couple of newspaper reports that was a 3 year contract. I'm guessing that actually means she's signed until the end of season 21/22. I don't remember seeing that timeline confirmed by United/Lauren though.
I just have this nagging feeling that I’ve heard or seen something recently that we gave her a new contract recently as I remember saying we should tie her down long ago then having a sense of relief recently reading something along the lines of us doing just that.

Maybe I dreamt becuase ive looked through her Instagram and the Man United woman Instagram and see no mention of it. I’ll be distraught if we lose her.
 

Wixqaz

Full Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
168
Supports
Celtic
I just have this nagging feeling that I’ve heard or seen something recently that we gave her a new contract recently as I remember saying we should tie her down long ago then having a sense of relief recently reading something along the lines of us doing just that.

Maybe I dreamt becuase ive looked through her Instagram and the Man United woman Instagram and see no mention of it. I’ll be distraught if we lose her.
So maybe we need a transfer rumours page?

But the rumour going round today is that James is leaving in the summer to Chelsea. Not sure that's the best move for her development as a player, she'll struggle to get into that side.

I'm disapointed if she does go but at the same time there is no point keeping an unhappy player.
 

Andersons Dietician

Full Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2016
Messages
11,678
So maybe we need a transfer rumours page?

But the rumour going round today is that James is leaving in the summer to Chelsea. Not sure that's the best move for her development as a player, she'll struggle to get into that side.

I'm disapointed if she does go but at the same time there is no point keeping an unhappy player.
Noooooo this will hurt. I hope it’s not true, but I guess with what’s happening in the world and her family ties down there it might have legs.
 

Wixqaz

Full Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
168
Supports
Celtic
Noooooo this will hurt. I hope it’s not true, but I guess with what’s happening in the world and her family ties down there it might have legs.
Yeah family ties means it makes sense. But Chelsea are so stacked I don't see how she gets the games she needs to improve. Jessie Flemming and Niamh Charles have the same issues there. We'll see I guess.
 

kundalini

Full Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2004
Messages
5,071
Hayley Ladd's new contract until summer 2023 + 1 year option, added to the opening post.
 

Wixqaz

Full Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
168
Supports
Celtic
Amy Turner's fiancee is moving to the NWSL (Angharad James). It seems likely this could impact Amy's contract and the side Haz is going to also need a new CB after Abby Dahlkemper went to City. Her deal is up this year, but she does have the +1.
 

jojojo

JoJoJoJoJoJo
Staff
Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Messages
34,009
Location
Welcome to Manchester reception committee
Do United women still hold open trials before the season?
The girls team are hoping to do open trials this summer again:
https://www.mufoundation.org/en/Projects/Girls-RTC

They did do a series of 16+/reserve team trials a couple of seasons ago, when they were launching those squads. I don't know if they'll do it this year - though I guess they might, because the normal football/scouting program hasn't have been happening during the covid restrictions.
 

Rocknrolla69er

Full Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2015
Messages
508
The girls team are hoping to do open trials this summer again:
https://www.mufoundation.org/en/Projects/Girls-RTC

They did do a series of 16+/reserve team trials a couple of seasons ago, when they were launching those squads. I don't know if they'll do it this year - though I guess they might, because the normal football/scouting program hasn't have been happening during the covid restrictions.
Appreciate the reply, the daughter would love to play for United women. Played against the RTC while at Doncaster
 

Wixqaz

Full Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
168
Supports
Celtic
Kirsty Hanson has just signed a new deal up until summer 2024 with a 1 year option. https://www.manutd.com/en/news/detail/kirsty-hanson-signs-contract-extension-with-man-utd-women

Summer 2021:

Tobin Heath
Christen Press

Kirsty Smith
Fran Bentley

Summer 2021 but club have + 1 year option:

Jess Sigsworth
Amy Turner
Martha Harris
Looking at the above list and with Casey going I think it likely that all the above will be gone this year, plus Zelem and James. T, C and LJ are definitely gone.