- Jan 3, 2019
Shaws studs went into the ankle indeed. I'm all for a good favorable referee call, but that there is a free kick every day of the week. It's unfortunate, it's not a malicious tackle by Shaw and he does hit the ball first from the replay I saw during the game yesterday. But the followthrough is accidental but studs first into the shinguard, so this is nothing to debate.
Shaw's studs went into the player's ankle.
And while I think Shaw probably got a touch on the ball, I wouldn't bet my mortgage that it wasn't a touch from the Burnley player's left boot instead.
If this was the other way around it'd be pitchfork emporium around here if we didn't get a free kick out of it.
The Maguire disallowed goal however, is a complete and utter joke.