Golf Lessons?

RedEM10

Sweaty Foot Monster
I have been playing golf every spring/summer for about 10 years but I am completely useless. One day I might go out and play semi-decent the next I hit everything hard right/left and even miss the ball.

I have recently decided to get lessons (First one tonight in fact). Anyone else taken golf lessons before? Some insight into how others found the lessons or what they gained from it would be great :)

broccoli

Supports
FCPorto
I have a golf field just across my street and went there a couple times. I was shocked how difficult it is to hit the ball clean. My advice is to watch youtube tutorials and practice with a stick.

VeevaVee

The worst "V"
Scout
I've never really played golf properly, but I did have some lessons once. I started hitting the ball cleanly with consistency in a few months with just one lesson a week (possibly two, can't remember), so can say they definitely work. I then had a break from that of about 2 years before briefly playing on a few courses. Was obviously shit again. Never done it since.

RedEM10

Sweaty Foot Monster
I have watched quite a bit on youtube but it just doesn't sink in to my head. I am reading Ben Hogans 5 lessons book at the minute which actually makes a lot of sense and is very descriptive. That's all I ask, a decent consistent swing. My aim is to play 18 holes this year without feeling embarrassed with anyone around waiting for me to play a hole

SteveTheRed

Not had lessons but I would like to one day.

I have a friend who plays off scratch who tells me that my swing isn't too bad but the best advice would be mentally clearing you mind. When he tees it up, it's just "lets hit the ball in that direction"...not thinking "last time I shanked it left" "There is water there" etc.

RedEM10

Sweaty Foot Monster
Just had a lesson last night. Went over all the basics such as grip and stance etc. Be a long process, but watching my first swing and last swing last night... huge difference