Premier League Gameweek 15

Sviken

Full Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2021
Messages
1,399
Nice play acting from Schmeichel there.
 

awop

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
2,057
Location
Paris
Supports
Arsenal
Since when is having 4 fingers on the ball deemed being "in control" ? :confused:
 

rollingstoned1

Full Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
1,451
I swear that there is some unwritten rule that when the ref goes to have a look at the replay he has to overturn whatever decision he made originally no matter how ridiculous.
 

Dec9003

Correctly predicted Portugal to win Euro 2016
Joined
Jul 31, 2015
Messages
7,123
Seemed to be rolling away from him even with his hand over it, nonsense decision imo.
 

RUCK4444

New Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
9,553
Location
$¥$¥$¥$¥$
Keeper spills it and barely has his hand on it and it’s disallowed, pathetic, that’s a goal every day of the week.
 

Pink Moon

Full Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2009
Messages
7,739
Location
Glasgow
Supports
Celtic
I swear that there is some unwritten rule that when the ref goes to have a look at the replay he has to overturn whatever decision he made originally no matter how ridiculous.
It's an easy cop out.

I've only seen a ref not do it once. Last year for Lamptey's goal away at Spurs.
 

AltiUn

likes playing with swords after fantasies
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
17,794
I'll be honest, I'm not sure of the rules there. Feels like it should be a goal though.
I was a bit quick to jump to calling it a dreadful decision but thinking about it I don't actually know the rules myself.
 

kiristao

Full Member
Joined
May 4, 2005
Messages
4,215
Location
Goa, India
The only question here is if you need 2 hands on the ball for control or 1 hand. If it's 1 hand, then I can understand why it was called a foul as the GK has clearly pressed the ball down on the ground to a stop before it is kicked. If it's 2 hands or if the GK needs to have even more control of the ball then that's different. Comes down to what the rule states.
 

Vidyoyo

Self-confessed coffee shop chat-up expert
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
11,928
Location
In the good times and golden era
I swear that there is some unwritten rule that when the ref goes to have a look at the replay he has to overturn whatever decision he made originally no matter how ridiculous.
I imagine it's something like VAR saying we're 99% sure it's a foul but can you go to the screen and double-check.

I don't think it gets to a point where they're ever saying they don't have a decision. So basically bias and the ref making the easy choice to agree.
 

FootballHQ

Full Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2017
Messages
14,860
Supports
Aston Villa
Thought the rule was two hands on the ball to have secure control?

Schmiechel just flung his hand on ball with no control whatsoever so wouldn't say it was kicked out of his grasp at all.

Still we were a bit lucky to be 1-1 as they've completely overloaded on our right, Harvey Barnes having a good game today.
 

duffer

Sensible and not a complete jerk like most oppo's
Scout
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
43,747
Location
Chelsea (the saviours of football) fan.
I was a bit quick to jump to calling it a dreadful decision but thinking about it I don't actually know the rules myself.
Commentators are saying it's "in control of the ball' which is reasonable but watching a slow-mo or freeze frame of Schmeichels hand on top of the ball is a really dumb way to look at the incident.
 

Vidyoyo

Self-confessed coffee shop chat-up expert
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
11,928
Location
In the good times and golden era
Here's the rules apparently...

A goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball with the hand(s) when:
  • the ball is between the hands or between the hand and any surface (e.g. ground, own body) or by touching it with any part of the hands or arms, except if the ball rebounds from the goalkeeper or the goalkeeper has made a save
  • holding the ball in the outstretched open hand
  • bouncing it on the ground or throwing it in the air
A goalkeeper cannot be challenged by an opponent when in control of the ball with the hand(s).

Damnit @sullydnl
 

AltiUn

likes playing with swords after fantasies
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
17,794
Thought the rule was two hands on the ball to have secure control?

Schmiechel just flung his hand on ball with no control whatsoever so wouldn't say it was kicked out of his grasp at all.

Still we were a bit lucky to be 1-1 as they've completely overloaded on our right, Harvey Barnes having a good game today.
He's a really tidy player, very talented lad.
 

desertegil

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 9, 2020
Messages
32
Supports
ODDs Ballklubb
The right decision according to the rules it seems.

Whether the rule is shit or not is a different debate.

From Law 12:
A goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball with the hand(s) when:
  • the ball is between the hands or between the hand and any surface (e.g. ground, own body) or by touching it with any part of the hands or arms except if the ball rebounds from the goalkeeper or the goalkeeper has made a save
  • holding the ball in the outstretched open hand
  • bouncing it on the ground or throwing it in the air
A goalkeeper cannot be challenged by an opponent when in control of the ball with the hand(s).
 

AltiUn

likes playing with swords after fantasies
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
17,794
Here's the rules apparently...

A goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball with the hand(s) when:
  • the ball is between the hands or between the hand and any surface (e.g. ground, own body) or by touching it with any part of the hands or arms, except if the ball rebounds from the goalkeeper or the goalkeeper has made a save
  • holding the ball in the outstretched open hand
  • bouncing it on the ground or throwing it in the air
A goalkeeper cannot be challenged by an opponent when in control of the ball with the hand(s).

Damnit @sullydnl
So, by the laws of the game it was correctly ruled out?
 

FootballHQ

Full Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2017
Messages
14,860
Supports
Aston Villa
Here's the rules apparently...

A goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball with the hand(s) when:
  • the ball is between the hands or between the hand and any surface (e.g. ground, own body) or by touching it with any part of the hands or arms, except if the ball rebounds from the goalkeeper or the goalkeeper has made a save
  • holding the ball in the outstretched open hand
  • bouncing it on the ground or throwing it in the air
A goalkeeper cannot be challenged by an opponent when in control of the ball with the hand(s).

Damnit @sullydnl
Blimey so keeper can get a fingertip on it and it can be ruled out as he's deemed "in control.":lol:

They'll be a similar type goal in a few weeks that will be given.
 

AltiUn

likes playing with swords after fantasies
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
17,794
Yeah seems that way. I highly doubt Schmeichel was in control except for the split second where his hand was on the ball and the lad took the shot. Unfortunate really
Ah I see. I don't like the rule but if it's been applied correctly then can't have any complaints about the decision. Really don't see how the rules justify what Schmeichel did as being in control.
 

KingCavani

Full Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2021
Messages
1,030
What an atrocious decision. Officiating is reaching NFL levels of bad.
 

sullydnl

Ross Kemp's caf ID
Joined
Sep 13, 2012
Messages
26,970
Blimey so keeper can get a fingertip on it and it can be ruled out as he's deemed "in control.":lol:

They'll be a similar type goal in a few weeks that will be given.
Not only that, in some cases he can not be touching it at all and still be deemed to be in control. If he throws it in the air to kick it it's still in his control while it's in mid-air.
 

FootballHQ

Full Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2017
Messages
14,860
Supports
Aston Villa
All set up for Vardy winner. We've rode our luck a bit with the positions Leicester have got into but just messed up last shot or pass.
 

FootballHQ

Full Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2017
Messages
14,860
Supports
Aston Villa
Not only that, in some cases he can not be touching it at all and still be deemed to be in control. If he throws it in the air to kick it it's still in his control while it's in mid-air.
Yeah in fairness Martinez did one of those right at start of season and it was ruled out. I always think that's clever player from forward so wouldn't rule out those unless forward has practically dragged it out of his hand.

Keepers get too protected.
 

WI_Red

Redcafes Most Rested
Joined
May 20, 2018
Messages
6,520
Supports
Atlanta United
NBCSN Reporting that the goal, by law, should have been given since the "one hand on top = control" portion does not apply if it is a rebound off the keeper making a save.
 

edcunited1878

Full Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2014
Messages
6,353
Location
San Diego, CA
In NBC in the U.S., they showed the rule...and there is an exception that states if the goalkeeper makes a save or the ball rebounds off him.

And now, they said VAR looked at the hand on top of the ball...not the entire phase of play, which includes the initial save by the goalkeeper which saw him scrambling for the rebound.

Goal should have stood. PL are contradicting their own rules in real time.