The "Nothing to play for" belief.

SirAnderson

I see this so much and even use it in arguments myself. And its probably not confined to football only.

A part of me thinks it is more a fan belief than it is a very accurate description of what teams do and believe.
Sure, it is visible in players or teams behavior when they are well and truly buried as a team (already relegated, or losing 3-0 in a match etc) or already wrapped up the league or confirmed 40 points safe against relegation etc.
But how accurate is the statement, that they won't put their 100% effort in because they have nothing to play for? Or because it will help a rival they won't give their best since they have nothing to play for?
I think its not accurate at all.

Some of my thoughts AGAINST the idea are the follow:

1. Surely as a professional I will give my best each time I get onto the pitch, or as a manager to not let my players play with that mentality? (or is it something unavoidable?)

2 . Then there is also the extra money given getting up a position in the table per club, which is something, in the 18/19 season the so called "neither here nor there" positions were the following amounts:

9. £23.1m
10. £21.1m
11. £19.2m
12. £17.3m
13. £15.4m
14. £13.4m
15. £11.5m
16. £9.6m

That's something to play for. Sometimes there are very few points between these positions. Currently there is only 6 points between 14th and 10th place, that's a difference of about 8mill. Granted the players may not see that, unless there is like FM performance bonus on where the club finishes they players get more?

I'm sure there are other reasons for giving your best other than the 2 above that I'm missing, please share them if you have.

Then, some of my thoughts FOR the idea:

1. Protecting yourself for your next club? (This would be player not team as a whole not being arsed)
2. European games. We hear this a lot, where we give up 1 competition for the next because it is more likely we can succeed there.