The old rule was more based and interpreted on advantage gained from the handball. An inconsequential brush didn't rule goals out, but if there was a clear advantage gained - such as the Neymar header - then refs disallowed them. In the attempt to codify the new handball rules to suit VAR and improve consistency, they've diverged from what the purpose of the law is in the first place.I agree.
What makes it even more absurd is that they have two completely different interpretations depending if it's handball by a defending or attacking team. If it's a defender in his own box it's a subjective call based on position of hand and so on, while if it's an attacking player in the opposition box it doesn't matter that your hand is completely tucked in, they will only make a subjective decision on handball if you pass it to a teammate that instantly scores. There's no reason to have two different sets of rules for this