Why are we avoiding signing world class players?

Hammondo

You don't have to go far to find players from abroad playing in the prem that say they were man Utd fans growing up.
Christian Pulisic is one for a start.
Being a fan and deciding to play for them are 2 very different things.

hobbers

They might not be world class but look at how our fans were drooling over Thomas Partey and Thiago. Now the fans have suddenly all turned quiet when they have had average seasons
And instead signed off on VdB for a higher fee than either...........

Bebestation

Im a doctor btw, my IQ destroys yours
And instead signed off on VdB for a higher fee than either...........
Yeah a 29 year old and 27 year old players in their prime vs a 23 year old player who is young and adapting to a much harder league than he is used to!

RedDevilzFox

Yeah a 29 year old and 27 year old players in their prime vs a 23 year old player who is young and adapting to a much harder league than he is used to!
Either way you look at it DVDB looks like a 'fish on a tree' at United. Not saying he is a bad player just horribly out of place. He is a systems player playing in a team that doesn't have one. I doubt even Ole can explain what system does his team play, they look like players who pass the ball the first team mate they see around without much of thinking. Kind of like we used to play on weekend, its just United have much better quality of players that we did. So they still producing magical moments, but I doubt anyone can look at United and say, yeah well, this is how we play!!

bond19821982

Last Man Standing champion 2019/20
The only arguably world class players there, at the point of us signing them, were Pogba and Di Maria.

Sanchez was totally burned out the season before we signed him. Lukaku has always been a million miles away from world class. Mata was frozen out at Chelsea for a season.