Gaming Building a gaming PC

Massive Spanner

Thinks Geoff Shreeves has one
Joined
Jul 2, 2014
Messages
16,842
Location
Tool shed
Ah cheers, I had no idea that's what that actually stood for, learn something new every day.

After my heart attack over my mobo last night, here's it all actually running properly...

I need another AER RBG fan to go in the top so that the daisy chain cables will reach and the back exhaust will light up.
Look at that lovely cable management like a civilized human being would have @Bojan11
 

Sanchez7

Full Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
1,086
Location
London
Ah cheers, I had no idea that's what that actually stood for, learn something new every day.

After my heart attack over my mobo last night, here's it all actually running properly...

I need another AER RBG fan to go in the top so that the daisy chain cables will reach and the back exhaust will light up.
Nice setup! you need a better mouse pad for that G502 though
 

Bojan11

Full Member
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
31,529
Look at that lovely cable management like a civilized human being would have @Bojan11
How dare you. His GPU is smaller and I installed a CPU cooler with 3 fans, which comes with a radiator and a lot of cables. Life would have been easier without the radiator and I just used case fans, but I don’t see the point of investing in the equipment that I have to not have decent cooling.


15 minutes, see how thick the cables are for the Cooler. That was a year ago when GPUS were civilised sizes before everyone started copying Sony and making huge things. I also can add a picture of @esmufc07 on the oled display. I would take all those wires just to see him and remember the good times of me owning him in 2020. He is starting to behave in 2021, but if he starts again then we going to have problems again.

I will get a riser cable in my own time. But for now let me finish the DLC for BoTW.
 

Turnip

likes to be spanked with games consoles
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
1,848
Location
Beckham's right nipple
Nice setup! you need a better mouse pad for that G502 though
Thanks! Yeah, the £3 Pikachu mat isn't the best, I'll probably pick up something a bit better (and of course with a little more RBG), there are a few things I need to finish it off completely like a better CPU cooler and wifi card, but I kinda spent more than my budget already so better wait.

Look at that lovely cable management like a civilized human being would have @Bojan11
Don't worry, this is the first time I've ever bothered with cable management, the case made it real easy, look at the inside of my old PC, it's like a bomb went off...
 

2mufc0

Everything is fair game in capitalism!
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,130
Supports
Dragon of Dojima
Thanks! Yeah, the £3 Pikachu mat isn't the best, I'll probably pick up something a bit better (and of course with a little more RBG), there are a few things I need to finish it off completely like a better CPU cooler and wifi card, but I kinda spent more than my budget already so better wait.


Don't worry, this is the first time I've ever bothered with cable management, the case made it real easy, look at the inside of my old PC, it's like a bomb went off...
This is hurting my eyes.

Although good cable management also depends on how good your case is at hiding cables.

Having so many fans isn't an excuse either I've got 6 and it doesn't look as bad as some posted here.
 

2mufc0

Everything is fair game in capitalism!
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,130
Supports
Dragon of Dojima
I have an i7 4770k with an Aorus 3070 (with the little tamagochi screen :lol:) and the bottleneck isn't severe at all. You can fine tune each game to minimalise it further.

Good buy! Shouldn't have much issue installing it, hopefully you have a crowbar to bend the shit out of your case ;)
And I thought I was bottlenecking with a 6700k :lol:.

But the CPU and motherboard is my next upgrade then I'll be set for a while.
 

Turnip

likes to be spanked with games consoles
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
1,848
Location
Beckham's right nipple
Does anyone else's Steam download queue suddenly swap things around? Apparently Steam just doesn't want to download Cyberpunk, I keep putting it to the top of the queue and it keeps dumping it back to the bottom again. I should have removed everything else to be fair to force it, but by god I started downloading it last night and it still hasn't finished (had to validate the files and it got another 9gb download somehow).
This is hurting my eyes.

Although good cable management also depends on how good your case is at hiding cables.

Having so many fans isn't an excuse either I've got 6 and it doesn't look as bad as some posted here.
In my defence you're right, I cheaped out on my old case and it was the stupidest thing I did on the build (other than fogetting to put the IO shield in). Don't get me wrong I totally could have done better had I tried, I just didn't try. The NZXT case I used this time was stupidly easy to cable manage with though.
 

Slevs

likes to play with penises
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
22,797
Location
Boyo
It'll be quite a while I think. The production just isn't there in enough numbers.

Have you thought about getting an FE when they are available as that's the most obvious way of paying MSRP at the moment? You still have to be quick to buy, but they tend to last 10 minutes before selling out when they go up for sale.
I'm not from the US/UK so that's impossible for me.
 

Redlambs

Creator of the Caftards comics
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
36,970
Location
Officially the best poker player on RAWK. Your cas
And I thought I was bottlenecking with a 6700k :lol:.

But the CPU and motherboard is my next upgrade then I'll be set for a while.
I do have it overclocked to 4.3mhz though :lol:

But bottlenecking is as much about the game as it is the machine. Which is why I'm holding off upgrading the rest now to see what's happening in the next month or two, as no games are going to be unplayable for me this entire generation anyway ;)
 

Dante

Bang Average but can post Blindfolded for 15 secs
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
20,228
Location
My wit's end
I've just ordered a prebuilt with a 5900X and RTX3080. Don't expect to receive it for a couple of months, but at least I'm near the front of the queue.
 

Slevs

likes to play with penises
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
22,797
Location
Boyo
How big a difference is the Zotac AMP Holo 3080 vs say the equivalent 3080 of Gigabyte, or MSI? I have the Zotac one available for a "relatively" acceptable price of around 800USD compared to the others (1100 USD)
 

Acheron

Full Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2016
Messages
1,548
Supports
Real Madrid
Thanks! Yeah, the £3 Pikachu mat isn't the best, I'll probably pick up something a bit better (and of course with a little more RBG), there are a few things I need to finish it off completely like a better CPU cooler and wifi card, but I kinda spent more than my budget already so better wait.


Don't worry, this is the first time I've ever bothered with cable management, the case made it real easy, look at the inside of my old PC, it's like a bomb went off...
Wow, what a mess. It's almost as bad as the non existent cable management in that PC a guy from the verge built...

Anyway your current system looks very nice and clean :)
 

mazhar13

Kermit Inc. 2020
Scout
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
12,708
Location
Toronto, Canada
How big a difference is the Zotac AMP Holo 3080 vs say the equivalent 3080 of Gigabyte, or MSI? I have the Zotac one available for a "relatively" acceptable price of around 800USD compared to the others (1100 USD)
Ultimately, the majority of the card is the same. The differences would lie in the build quality, cooling, temperature, and (minor) core clocks.

From what I've read, ZOTAC GPUs are typically quite noisy and require some fine tuning to make them run cooler. Gigabyte can also heat up, but their cards are designed to run just fine at higher temperatures. MSI GPUs tend to be decent in quality, overall. If you don't mind the fan noises and a bit of tinkering/care to ensure that the GPUs remain cool enough, then a ZOTAC would be adequate enough.
 

Igor Drefljak

Definitely Russian
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
6,355
Location
The Wastelands
How big a difference is the Zotac AMP Holo 3080 vs say the equivalent 3080 of Gigabyte, or MSI? I have the Zotac one available for a "relatively" acceptable price of around 800USD compared to the others (1100 USD)
I honestly don't know the true answer but I think price vs performance, that Zotac is probably better.
You may get a few FPS more with the more expensive ones, but is it really worth $300 more.

Resale value, people do turn their noses up at Zotac and Palit, but I wouldn't let it put you off.
If anything, the £300 you save could go towards watercooling, more ram, better CPU and the performance would be better
 

2mufc0

Everything is fair game in capitalism!
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,130
Supports
Dragon of Dojima
How big a difference is the Zotac AMP Holo 3080 vs say the equivalent 3080 of Gigabyte, or MSI? I have the Zotac one available for a "relatively" acceptable price of around 800USD compared to the others (1100 USD)
You can look up the benchmarks on YouTube, I would be very surprised if there's a noticeable difference, accross the board the FPS gain is limited. I think it mostly comes down to things like appearance and build quality.
 

iluvoursolskjær

Full Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2015
Messages
4,063
Location
Searching for life's white text in London
After having played on gaming x trio 3070 for a few days there's a some things I've noticed. First of all even using features like ray tracing and dlss the card runs cooler on average than the rx 570 (I'm aware amd cards run hotter in general), staying in the 50-60c's under load creaping to low 70c's after several hours of play which is impressive considering I've got just the one exhaust case fan at the back for the moment (waiting for some in the post).

Have only checked this on gears 5 but out of the box it's running 2010-2030mhz constant core clock speed in areas with a lot going on which is more than the 1830mhz it says on the box; thought that's pretty cool. Memory frequency is 7001 ddr as is typical, can anyone tell me what are safe increments and limits to overclock (particularly memory) without fecking anything up, also whether the gains would be worth it?
 

Balljy

Full Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2016
Messages
920
After having played on gaming x trio 3070 for a few days there's a some things I've noticed. First of all even using features like ray tracing and dlss the card runs cooler on average than the rx 570 (I'm aware amd cards run hotter in general), staying in the 50-60c's under load creaping to low 70c's after several hours of play which is impressive considering I've got just the one exhaust case fan at the back for the moment (waiting for some in the post).

Have only checked this on gears 5 but out of the box it's running 2010-2030mhz constant core clock speed in areas with a lot going on which is more than the 1830mhz it says on the box; thought that's pretty cool. Memory frequency is 7001 ddr as is typical, can anyone tell me what are safe increments and limits to overclock (particularly memory) without fecking anything up, also whether the gains would be worth it?
The box clock speeds don't mean anything on the 3xxx series as the Nvidia drivers will take it to what it thinks is the maximum frequency whilst keeping it within temp limits. 2010 to 2030 is pretty decent anyway but you can probably go a bit higher with a manual overclock in my experience with a 3080. I found it better going for an undervolted overclock anyway so I'm running 2050mhz (the 3070 should be similar) running less voltage than out of the box :lol:

I'd start at 7300 for the memory and then creep up 20 or 30 at a time. Personally I saw very little improvement from memory in terms of benchmarks so left it at a fairly safe level. That is where the 3080 does differ though as it has ECC memory so won't crash badly even if it fails due to an overclock. I think most 3070's can go +500 on memory.
 

iluvoursolskjær

Full Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2015
Messages
4,063
Location
Searching for life's white text in London
The box clock speeds don't mean anything on the 3xxx series as the Nvidia drivers will take it to what it thinks is the maximum frequency whilst keeping it within temp limits. 2010 to 2030 is pretty decent anyway but you can probably go a bit higher with a manual overclock in my experience with a 3080. I found it better going for an undervolted overclock anyway so I'm running 2050mhz (the 3070 should be similar) running less voltage than out of the box :lol:

I'd start at 7300 for the memory and then creep up 20 or 30 at a time. Personally I saw very little improvement from memory in terms of benchmarks so left it at a fairly safe level. That is where the 3080 does differ though as it has ECC memory so won't crash badly even if it fails due to an overclock. I think most 3070's can go +500 on memory.
Yeah the box seems to under-sell it but i guess better that than the other way around. Ahh I'll have a look at overclocking while undervolting, would be great to draw less power especially while I wait for the fan to arrive for the extra heat. Appreciate the tips!
 

Bosws87

Full Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
835
I've decided to upgrade my system,

AMD RYZEN 7 3800X
3080
32gb RAM

From i7-9700
2070 Super
16gb ram

I will restart cyberpunk and play it properly with raytracing enabled!

Thinking of upgrading my monitor is the jump from 144hz - 240hz worth the premium, i mainly play CS:GO and Valorant.
 

Bojan11

Full Member
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
31,529
GeForce RTX 3060 Launches Late February
The GeForce RTX 3060, the newest member of the GeForce RTX 3060 family of graphics cards, is an enticing upgrade for mid-range users looking to enjoy the latest games at great detail levels and frame rates.
For example, gamers still rocking the GeForce GTX 1060, the most-used GPU on Steam, will instantly supercharge their performance. They’ll be able to take on the latest games that are more stunning and graphically demanding. They’ll additionally get to experience ray-traced visuals for the first time, and have complete access to our latest game-changing technologies, including NVIDIA DLSS, NVIDIA Broadcast, and more.
The GeForce RTX 3060 will also support Resizable BAR, along with the rest of the GeForce RTX 30 Series on compatible motherboards. This advanced feature of PCI Express enables the CPU to access the GPU frame buffer, improving performance in many games. For more on this upcoming feature, head here.
https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce/news/nvidia-geforce-rtx-game-on-announcement-roundup/
 

Turnip

likes to be spanked with games consoles
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
1,848
Location
Beckham's right nipple
I've decided to upgrade my system,

AMD RYZEN 7 3800X
3080
32gb RAM

From i7-9700
2070 Super
16gb ram

I will restart cyberpunk and play it properly with raytracing enabled!

Thinking of upgrading my monitor is the jump from 144hz - 240hz worth the premium, i mainly play CS:GO and Valorant.
Very nice, I would have been happy with your old system before my upgrade last week, but don't blame you.
Is this instead of the rumored 3080ti?
 

Bosws87

Full Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
835
Very nice, I would have been happy with your old system before my upgrade last week, but don't blame you.

Is this instead of the rumored 3080ti?
Yeh, my old setup was a freebie if i had bought it i probs would of stayed put!
 

Igor Drefljak

Definitely Russian
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
6,355
Location
The Wastelands
Thinking of upgrading my monitor is the jump from 144hz - 240hz worth the premium, i mainly play CS:GO and Valorant.
To the eye, it's not worth it. The jump from this isn't big or very noticeable, although since having a 240hz monitor, I don't really want to drop back down.
But performance wise, you may do better in games without knowing just cause.

Linus did a test with some top gamers and even though they didn't know which was the 144 and the 240 by eye, they did perform better on a 240hz monitor
 

Igor Drefljak

Definitely Russian
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
6,355
Location
The Wastelands
I'm currently destroying a room to make it a small dedicated gaming room.
For me, it's gonna look great, but it's still probably got a few weeks to go.

Still waiting on some EK stuff though anyway, so until that comes, this PC just lays dormant