Player fatigue

El Jefe

I've noticed a recent trend on here for posters to link poor performances to what they perceive to be too much playing time. Over the last couple of seasons, AWB, Maguire, Bruno and Rashford have all been said to be performing poorly because they need a rest. This might be true in the last stretch of the season but I've seen people say this even before we've reached the half way point of the season.

I'm no sport scientist but I'm not necessarily sure I buy this. Players in their mid 20s should be as fit as ever and there's plenty examples of players playing 50-60 games year in year out with barely any discernible drop in performance. Lampard was famously able to play 38 games a season with about as much consistency as possible. The same for Ronaldo, Messi and other players of that nature who play up to 70 games a year including internationals.

I'm not saying players don't get tired but I don't believe they are consistently fatigued for 2-3 months as some on here will have you believe. Players can be tired for a small run of games during the season but they tend to recover pretty quickly. Hojberg racked up the most minutes in the PL last season and he's at the Euros still running tirelessly. The same with Andy Robertson who played the 12th most minutes in the PL last season. Manutd don't have a single player in the top 30 for minutes played.

The simple explanation sometimes is that a player just isn't performing well. AWB seemed to get better as the season wore on despite playing what seemed to be every game. Players build a rhythm when they play consistently and usually don't want a break in that rhythm.

DOTA

wants Amber Rudd to call him a naughty boy