Are the European Single Leg Matches Better than Home & Away?

What do you prefer?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Bebestation

Im a doctor btw, my IQ destroys yours
I've been enjoying the European Single leg Matches much more than Home & Away Double legs. It feels much more nerve wrenching and on your seat. United vs Copenhagen was just a 1-0 match but it was great. PSG 2-1 vs Atalanta was great too.

I've never been a fan of the away goal rule either - having the matches at one country like this every year like the world cups are organized would be great. England CL 2021 etc.

It's unlikely due to the loss of money from fans at different stadiums - but I much prefer single matches over double leg matches.

Last edited:

PeteManic

Of course. But more matches = more revenue. And football is nothing if not the ultimate capitalist spectacle.

JB08

Searches for nude pics of Marcos Rojo
Yes. Much better but it will revert to the norm of course.

VorZakone

What would Kenny G do?
Much better, agreed. More tense.

The first of 2 legs always feel a bit meh, because everybody knows there will be a return game.

Annihilate Now!

...or later, I'm not fussy
Scout
As a spectical yes.

As a season ticket holder who wants to watch a big European game at OT? Not at all.

Sandikan

aka sex on the beach
Better for armchair viewing yes..but less good if you want to actually go to the game. Presuming they'd all be in a neutral country

SportingCP96

emotional range of a teaspoon
Supports
Sporting Clube de Portugal
I actually prefer the double leg. Makes it more enjoyable to play at home trying to overturn a deficit ala Liverpool vs Barca.

I do like this single leg stuff though as it makes it that anyone can win a game. where as with 2 legs the better team normally wins.

fps

For the neutral yes, and in a sporting sense yes.

But to make it fair there would be no more big champions league home matches. That would be very strange and sad for the fans.

VorZakone