Ashley Fletcher

Sean_RedDevil

Twitter bot
Introducing... Ashley Fletcher
Ashley Fletcher is determined to impress at Under-21 level for Manchester United after topping the Under-18s' goalscoring chart last term...

When did you first join United?
Well, I was originally involved with the satellite training centres when I was five years old and then later I started training at The Cliff. Unfortunately, the club didn't sign me at the age of nine so I went to Bolton Wanderers, my hometown team, instead. I was born in Yorkshire but moved to Bolton when I was three. United signed me when I was in the Under-12s.

Which players did you come through the ranks with?
I’ve been with James Wilson and Josh Harrop since the early days. I had a really good partnership with Willo and obviously look up to him now he’s in the first team. We had a very good season together in the Academy last year.

How would you describe your playing style?
Well, I’m tall and a target man in a way but I like to think I can go in behind as well and stretch the play. Obviously, I can collect balls in behind and get one-on-one with the goalkeeper but I can hold it up as well. A lot of my goals come in the six-yard box. They’re the type I score - the poacher’s goals.

Have you always been a regular goalscorer through all the age groups?
Yes, from an early age, I’ve always scored goals in each season I’ve played in. I’ve never had to worry about that really as I’ve always known the goals will come. This year, it’s obviously been harder to get game time because of the quality players we have in the Under-21s. Will Keane was playing before his loan and Willo has come down sometimes. Hopefully, I can get some games during the next period.

We hear you've been scoring goals in 'behind-closed-doors' friendlies...