Disabled access to games

owlo

A bit of an embarrassing one this, but here goes.

When I was younger I used to go to games all the time; unfortunately these days I have a wee bit of combat ptsd which precludes most social settings and especially crowds/noises. I basically spend my work and play time home or on the riverboat cut off from humanity with the dog. I've been thinking lately, I might want to try to go to a game here and there but have no idea how this works. Mobility isn't great but I'm not wheelchair bound, however the dog (Boerboel) is pretty much essential to my sanity. I rang the ticket office and got a fuzzy 'well if its an assistance dog its ok' - though couldn't tell me if my dog could qualify.

Had a look at the site, and I think car parking will be ok, but have no idea how quickly I'd be able to 'escape' if things got too much, whether I could take the dog, or really whether it's a good idea at all. Plus I'd probably be taking a spot from a 'real' disabled/wheelchair user....

Anybody got any experience with this? Perhaps better to just stay away?

horsechoker

The Caf's Roy Keane.
Sorry I can't help but you shouldn't feel embarrassed asking about this. It's not something you should feel ashamed of.

DOTA

wants Amber Rudd to call him a naughty boy
If you don't attend football games at all due to issues with crowds Old Trafford is jumping in the deep end a bit. I reckon I'd probably think about trying a smaller ground first.

As far as 'real' disabled goes, if your ability to attend games depends on whether or not you can be in disabled seating then you are exactly as in need of that space as anyone else.

Fts 74

No you shouldn't stay away and nothing to be embarrassed about.

Hopefully someone more qualified than me will be able to help you.

Good luck.

Dr. Dwayne

Self proclaimed tagline king.