Brentford, Liverpool and the coming of age of football analytics?

Teja

Brentford

I ran into a great Twitter thread today that talked about how Brentford moneyballed their way to the PL. Very much worth a read in its entirety. But the summary is:
  1. Owner with background in finance / math took over both Brentford and FC Midtjylland.
  2. FC Midtjylland was a test club where they would experiment with different ideas and see what worked. The ideas that worked would be used in Brentford, the ideas that didn't would be discarded.
  3. Ignore short term results entirely. Individual games are ruled by luck and randomness. Develop a series of team performance metrics (of which xG is one) to see if they were making progress.
  4. Had lots of transfer success by finding undervalued players (Benrahma, Watkins, Maupay)

Liverpool

NYTimes profile on Liverpool's moneyball approach: https://www.nytimes.com/2020/06/26/sports/soccer/liverpool-premier-league-title.html

I'm a software engineer by trade and work in the ML space and I see a lot of exciting things happening football data right now. This forum has picked up on some trends and folks are using player cards from Opta etc. and looking at metrics like xG, key passes. However, just in the past two years we've had tremendous advancements in the space.
  1. Computer vision to estimate pose / detect events (passes, dribbles etc.)
  2. Analytics to go back and estimate value of each player action. (See: expected threat / xT)
  3. Pitch control estimation using things like Voroni diagrams.
Liverpool and Chelsea have been quite publicly working with the football analytics community. Liverpool for instance noticed a bunch of researchers doing analysis on broadcast video and just invited them to put some cameras at Anfield to get better quality video.