Bruno Fernandes False 9

Skills

Snitch
Does this sort out the midfield headache going forward?

1. It gets one of our best players on the pitch and in the final third which is where he's exclusively good at
2. We can play a proper midfield 3
3. It opens up more midfield options in the summer - at the moment, the only way to make it work is that we sign 2 number 6s who sit behind the 10. But then, we can look at getting a 6 and an 8 which is probably more doable.
4. Playing a 3 in midfield also opens up more opportunities for some fringe players to be involved (Donny if he's back, Garner if he isn't sent on loan)
5. With a more solid foundation in midfield, we push our fullbacks further up the pitch.

Judas

Open to offers
I don't think he's best super far forward personally, takes away his passing range, and means he's often just running around like a headless chicken.

Bebestation

Im a doctor btw, my IQ destroys yours
This is exceptionally hard now without a left footed forward.

Bwuk

He’s been good in the 3 man midfield. Why change that? We’ve looked better since moving to 433.

Andre Kagawa

In theory I'd be all for it, but we don’t have the squad for it - gonna need him in midfield.

Not gonna happen in a million years either, with over-the-hill moaning Ronaldo in the team.

Ogaranya

That will happen if we set up a midfield three that play as shuttlers when we are out of possession because if he is to play as a false 9, then our front three has to be fluid.

Remember the geese

I've been all for this for a while. Difficult to implement though with Ronaldo at the club. It would allow us to play a proper midfield three, instead of a two, with Bruno as a 10. Will definitely require us to sign some more central midfielders, but that should be happening regardless. I feel it would give us more control in games, although Bruno has done well as an 8 in our last couple of fixtures. It offers us good tactical flexibility and should at least be tried at some point.