Gaming Building a gaming PC

Paxi

Dagestani MMA Boiled Egg Expert
Joined
Mar 4, 2017
Messages
20,001
:lol:

IntelliJ here(though that can be pretty damn heavy as well)
Well in that case I’d go for 2x 32 sticks and maybe expand that later if you need to. If you’re working with ram then it makes sense to have what you need and to the best one.
 

Paxi

Dagestani MMA Boiled Egg Expert
Joined
Mar 4, 2017
Messages
20,001

OleBoiii

Full Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
1,555

Paxi

Dagestani MMA Boiled Egg Expert
Joined
Mar 4, 2017
Messages
20,001
@MaxiPaxi

Final suggestion needed! The store doesn't have the GPU you suggested. Which of the following would you recommend for the motherboard you suggested and Ryzen 5 3600(I don't think I need a stronger CPU than this)?

https://www.komplettbedrift.no/category/19431/komponenter/skjermkort?nlevel=19014§19431§19505&price.min=3000&price.max=3200&price.omin=0&price.omax=112832&sort=PriceDesc:DESCENDING
What’s your budget? If you give me your currency I can have a look on that particular website that you linked. The stronger GPU the better.
 

OleBoiii

Full Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
1,555
What’s your budget? If you give me your currency I can have a look on that particular website that you linked. The stronger GPU the better.
On that website(komplettbedrift.no) I'd say around 3000 NOK is my limit. The first GPU I was thinking of buying was nearly 4000 NOK, but I don't need that much power.
 

Paxi

Dagestani MMA Boiled Egg Expert
Joined
Mar 4, 2017
Messages
20,001
On that website(komplettbedrift.no) I'd say around 3000 NOK is my limit. The first GPU I was thinking of buying was nearly 4000 NOK, but I don't need that much power.
And you’re going to be playing at 1080p resolution right?
 

OleBoiii

Full Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
1,555
If you're going AMD, that is a very good X570 board
I'm getting either this or the Asus Rog x570-e
Yeah, I'm going with Ryzen 5 3600.

I definitely need WIFI 6 and Bluetooth, so my choices are a bit limited. But this motherboard seems very similar to the one MaxiPadi suggested, so I reckon I'll go for this if time is an issue(getting big discounts if I'm quick).
 

Paxi

Dagestani MMA Boiled Egg Expert
Joined
Mar 4, 2017
Messages
20,001
Ok, last question I promise :lol:

The motherboard you suggested will not be in stock for about 3 weeks, which is probably fine, but in case it isn't: is this a decent second choice?

MSI MPG X570 GAMING PRO CARBON WIFI ATX AM4
https://pcpartpicker.com/product/tg...4-motherboard-mpg-x570-gaming-pro-carbon-wifi
Yeah that’s a good motherboard. Any x570 will run ryzen 5 so you can pick pretty much anything you want depending on the features you want your motherboard to have.
 

Igor Drefljak

Definitely Russian
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
6,190
Location
The Wastelands
So I really wanted the Odyssey G9 but decided to talk myself out of it.
As I'm at some point wanting to do some streaming, this monitor sort of makes it impossible, unless I still had a secondary monitor and, yeah, feck that :lol:

So instead I've just ordered an Alienware AW3420DW and AW2521HF
 

Fortitude

TV/Monitor Expert
Scout
Joined
Jul 10, 2004
Messages
13,638
Location
Inside right
Dear Forti

Thank you for your pre-order for the Asus GeForce RTX 3080 TUF Gaming 10GB GDDR6X PCI-Express Graphics Card on order xxxxx.

You are currently in queue position 105. Please keep checking your emails, we will send an update after each shipment with your new position.

We are working hard with NVIDIA and the graphics card manufacturers to secure stock based on the number of paid pre orders we have received. You can check the latest updates from our Product Manager on the forums.

Our telephone and webnote systems are extremely busy and you may experience a long wait. If you wish to cancel your order, please use the following link and we will prioritise the refund of your order: Cancel Form.

Thank you for your patience.
Have a nice day.
The Overclockers UK Team

www.overclockers.co.uk
prio�o])G�3
 

Fortitude

TV/Monitor Expert
Scout
Joined
Jul 10, 2004
Messages
13,638
Location
Inside right
So will be interesting to see how much they're shipping per batch and how long each batch takes to arrive.
 

Paxi

Dagestani MMA Boiled Egg Expert
Joined
Mar 4, 2017
Messages
20,001
3070 delayed until after RDNA 2 event.
 

littlepeasoup

Full Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2013
Messages
4,285
Location
Give peas a chance.
Was upper 300+ for a Gigabyte Eagle 3080 with OCUK - prepared to wait but I've decided against getting that specific card so I've cancelled. A good performer, but it's just butt-ugly. I'll see if I can nab an FE at some point or wait until the AMD announcement and 3080 stock stabilises. Might even reinvest that money into upgrading my system in the spring before I put a new card in.

It's funny how much a difference a few weeks can make on the fear of missing out.
 

Massive Spanner

Thinks Geoff Shreeves has one
Joined
Jul 2, 2014
Messages
16,190
Location
Tool shed
I wonder if my 550w gold GPU will be able to handle the 3070 when it's out. Tempted to just cancel my ps5 pre-order and get one, probably still be able to sell my 2060 super for 250 quid.
 

Massive Spanner

Thinks Geoff Shreeves has one
Joined
Jul 2, 2014
Messages
16,190
Location
Tool shed
I'm assuming the power draw will be similar to a 2080ti? 650w would be a safer bet I'd imagine.
For the 3070? Can't imagine it's as high as a 2080TI?

Ryzen's are incredibly power efficient so I'm hoping that would help - I'll wait for the reviews anyway.
 

Bojan11

Full Member
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
30,248
If you thought it would become easier to purchase an Nvidia RTX 3080 or 3090 by the end of the year, you would be wrong. And it doesn't look good for the RTX 3070, either. Today Nvidia CEO Jensen Huang revealed that the company expects the crushing shortages of RTX 3080 and 3090 graphics cards to persist through the end of 2020, saying:

"I believe that demand will outstrip all of our supply through the year," Huang said, "Remember, we're also going into the double-whammy. The double-whammy is the holiday season. Even before the holiday season, we were doing incredibly well, and then you add on top of it the ‘Ampere factor,’ and then you add on top of that the ‘Ampere holiday factor,’ and we're going to have a really really big Q4 season."

Jensen Huang's answer came during a Q&A with the press to cover the company's GTC announcements. Still, as expected, the topic of the ongoing shortages of GeForce RTX 3080 and 3090 models bubbled up during the session. In response to a question about the shortages, Huang countered that the company hadn't experienced a shortage of supply, rather an abundance of demand:

"The 3080 and 3090 have a demand issue, not a supply issue," said Huang, "The demand issue is that it is much much greater than we expected - and we expected really a lot."

"Retailers will tell you they haven't seen a phenomenon like this in over a decade of computing. It hearkens back to the old days of Windows 95 and Pentium when people were just out of their minds to buy this stuff. So this is a phenomenon like we've not seen in a long time, and we just weren't prepared for it."

"Even if we knew about all the demand, I don't think it's possible to have ramped that fast. We're ramping really really hard. Yields are great, the product's shipping fantastically, it's just getting sold out instantly," said Huang, "I appreciate it very much, I just don't think there's a real problem to solve. It's a phenomenon to observe. It's just a phenomenon."
https://www.tomshardware.com/news/n...shortages-to-last-through-the-end-of-the-year

@MaxiPaxi

Don’t think I will getting anything this month from Scan.
 

Paxi

Dagestani MMA Boiled Egg Expert
Joined
Mar 4, 2017
Messages
20,001
feck I hope Big Navi is somewhere near 3080 and has the price of a 3070.

It would be absolutely glorious to see - for that diabolical launch Nvidia served up.

Scan, Overclockers and EBuyer are all bunch of cnuts as well.

In other news, I picked up a 2080ti for my new build. Only part that’s secondhand. £500. I’ve overpaid for sure but couldn’t wait. I know the price will plummet eventually but I’ve made my peace with it. It’s still a very capable gpu that should see me through until 3080 or 3090 cards become readily available.
 

mitChley

Full Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
1,554
Location
Sheffield
So I really wanted the Odyssey G9 but decided to talk myself out of it.
As I'm at some point wanting to do some streaming, this monitor sort of makes it impossible, unless I still had a secondary monitor and, yeah, feck that :lol:

So instead I've just ordered an Alienware AW3420DW and AW2521HF
I keep eyeing up the G7. I've got a 35" ultra currently but it only does 100hz. Would prefer the extra frames of the Samsung over the extra width.
 

OleBoiii

Full Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
1,555
So my first build seems to have gone smoothly! It was a lot of fun! Thanks for helping me pick out components. Big shout out to @MaxiPaxi !

I do have two questions concerning the front panel connectors:

1. The damn HDD LED
So I plugged in my front panel connector using the method to the left(see picture in spoiler tag). I figure that the method to the left means that all of the connectors to the right are automatically connected, without the possibility of plugging out individual LEDS? Well the problem is that the power button is flashing like a maniac. This is supposedly how it's supposed to work, but it's annoying. After some Googling it seems like it's the HDD LED that's to blame.

I'm thinking of unplugging the front panel connector and then plugging in all the individual connectors(the solution to the right in the picture I posted), apart from the HDD LED connector. But how do I plug in the individual connectors to the motherboard? I assume that I will use the same plug as I used in solution one, but now there are suddenly 3 individual pins. Does it matter where I connect them, as long as it's in the same plug that I used in solution one?



2. USB 3.1 gen 1 to USB 3.2 gen 1
My front panel also comes with a USB 3.1 gen 1 port, but my motherboard only has USB 3.2 gen 1 plugs. Will 3.1 also fit, seeing as they're both gen 1? I'd essentially be plugging a slower USB connector into a faster one, so if it's backwards compatible it ought to work, no?

________________

EDIT: Looking at the cables closer, it seems like there is a system for where they must go into the motherboard.
 
Last edited:

Fortitude

TV/Monitor Expert
Scout
Joined
Jul 10, 2004
Messages
13,638
Location
Inside right
https://www.scan.co.uk/shops/nvidia/rtx-30-series-faqs

Scan showing how many outstanding preorders they have left.
Re: Update to your Pre-Order

Hi,

Thank you for your custom. We're writing to give you an update on your pre-order:

The demand for the RTX 30 series has been unprecedented and we are doing all we can to give you the best timeframe for your pre-order. We receive short notice as to the quantities of cards to be delivered, if we have an estimate for number of cards due to be received we will give you an estimated arrival date, otherwise we are revealing your position in the queue. The situation is fluid, all being well we expect to fulfil most of our current back orders by mid-november, and all by the end of November (across all models). Queue positions are specific to the model your ordered. Please check the following page https://www.scan.co.uk/shops/nvidia/rtx-30-series-faqs and your email for updates and options.

LN110424 - ASUS NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 10GB TUF GAMING Ampere Graphics Card

Your current queue position is 137. We are working hard with our suppliers and partners to get an estimated arrival date, please watch your email for further updates.

Any other items on your order have been reserved so that your order can be fulfilled as soon as the other items arrive. Should you require any further information or assistance, or wish to make any amendments to your order, please reply directly to this email.

Best Regards,

The Scan Team List;
Absolute shambles. November, perhaps end of, which probably, actually means December, for a card that was released (supposedly) in September!

I joked with a mate that I'll get my card after the PS5... little did I know I was actually documenting the future!

I cannot believe how poorly handled this has been.

Where are you in the queue Bojan?
 

Massive Spanner

Thinks Geoff Shreeves has one
Joined
Jul 2, 2014
Messages
16,190
Location
Tool shed
I assume you have the same as me, the h510? I don't think there's any way to disable the power light, it's a bit much at first but you get used to it. I guess it depends where you have your tower. Mine is low down so I wouldn't really be looking at it.

Not sure if my mobo is usb 3.1 but the front usb works fine for me, if that helps! Sadly my mobo does not have a USB c connector though so that's wasted!
 

OleBoiii

Full Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
1,555
I assume you have the same as me, the h510? I don't think there's any way to disable the power light, it's a bit much at first but you get used to it. I guess it depends where you have your tower. Mine is low down so I wouldn't really be looking at it.
Yeah, we have the same tower then.

Have you tried plugging out the HDD LED? I read somewhere that the button flashes to "signal" that your harddrive is connected and that it's the HDD LED that is the "culprit".

Not sure if my mobo is usb 3.1 but the front usb works fine for me, if that helps! Sadly my mobo does not have a USB c connector though so that's wasted!
Do you have a link to your motherboard? :)
 

Balljy

Full Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2016
Messages
636
I'm thinking of unplugging the front panel connector and then plugging in all the individual connectors(the solution to the right in the picture I posted), apart from the HDD LED connector. But how do I plug in the individual connectors to the motherboard? I assume that I will use the same plug as I used in solution one, but now there are suddenly 3 individual pins. Does it matter where I connect them, as long as it's in the same plug that I used in solution one?

If I'm reading the question right you're asking how the pins will attach to the motherboard? I've always done it as per option 2 in the diagram and there's approx 12 pins on the motherboard in one location and each one connects to a specific connector (note they are positive / negative so have to be orientated the right way). It's pretty easy to do, but you will need a motherboard diagram telling you which pins line up to which connector and in which direction the connector should be attached.

You can leave off any ones you want as they are just LED's etc. My HDD has a specific light independent from the power one, so the power light is constant and the HDD one flashes when it is in use.
 

Massive Spanner

Thinks Geoff Shreeves has one
Joined
Jul 2, 2014
Messages
16,190
Location
Tool shed
Yeah, we have the same tower then.

Have you tried plugging out the HDD LED? I read somewhere that the button flashes to "signal" that your harddrive is connected and that it's the HDD LED that is the "culprit".



Do you have a link to your motherboard? :)
Well yeah a lot of towers have a separate light of the HDD and the Power. It's a bit annoying that NZXT decided to bundle them together, maybe to make it cleaner I guess. I haven't bothered to plug it out cause I've had it a year now and it doesn't annoy me to be honest! I find the RGB off the MSI GPU inside it more annoying to be honest :lol: Hence I've tucked it away in my desk.

This is the mobo, pretty much the go-to cheaper gaming mobo for Ryzen 5's!
https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07VB2BG3X/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o09_s02?ie=UTF8&psc=1
EDIT: it does mention USB 3.2..
 

OleBoiii

Full Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
1,555
If I'm reading the question right you're asking how the pins will attach to the motherboard? I've always done it as per option 2 in the diagram and there's approx 12 pins on the motherboard in one location and each one connects to a specific connector (note they are positive / negative so have to be orientated the right way). It's pretty easy to do, but you will need a motherboard diagram telling you which pins line up to which connector and in which direction the connector should be attached.

You can leave off any ones you want as they are just LED's etc. My HDD has a specific light independent from the power one, so the power light is constant and the HDD one flashes when it is in use.
The cables are alligned in a way that that makes it easy to see where they should go into the motherboard. Since I've already used the method to the left, I think I can "predict" which pins they belong to.

Aha, so:

HDD LED: what makes the button flash.
P LED + and - : what makes the button light work.
POWER SW: what makes the itself button work.

So I can conclude that the only thing I need is actually the POWER SW connector?