The Athletic “gutting” British newspapers

adexkola

Doesn't understand sportswashing.
The CL is a glorified FA Cup set to music
Supports
orderly disembarking on planes
I subscribe. But then again I enjoy the minutae and details of sports across the board. And the indepth articles on teams I follow is impeccable.

The market of people like me may have a hard ceiling but it does exist. Not sure you can force more people to be nerds but sort of media integration is possible.

For those more familiar with US sports, Grantland on ESPN was free and it had excellent sport articles but it never made a profit. ESPN didn't mind subsidizing it though because it was a valuable niche to have. The Ringer (Grantland's spiritual successor) now does podcasts and other pop-culture related stuff in addition to indepth sports articles. Maybe the Athletic will go that route. Hopefully that succeeds.

Last edited:

WeePat

Supports
Chelsea
I realised I had been paying £8 a month for the last 3 months after the £1 a month promo presumably ended. After trying to cancel, they offered an annual sub of £18 which works out at £1.5 a month starting next month.

JJ12

Predicted Portugal, Italy to win Euro 2016, 2020
I realised I had been £8 a month for the last 3 months after the £1 a month promo presumably ended. After trying to cancel, they offered an annual sub of £18 which works out at £1.5 a month starting next month.
I love the athletic but I may try that trick

Tom Van Persie

No relation
I got the £1 per month for six months deal back in the summer and I just renewed for £17.99 for the next 12 months. I wouldn't bother subscribing if it wasn't for these deals tbh.

WeePat

Supports
Chelsea
I love the athletic but I may try that trick
I don't read the athletic all that often to be honest, but I do appreciate the insight they provide across multiple sports. But I only really sub because of the deals. It just wouldn't be worth it for me without them.

WeePat

Supports
Chelsea